rainy thoughts.

it’s 3:42 in the afternoon on a hot Wednesday day, but the sky opened up and let some rain fall down. i was supposed to be at work, or so i thought, but i showed up two hours early and and got sent home. now, i’m trying to pass time before 5 p.m.

rain. all this hot, 90, to 100 degree weather hasn’t allowed us up here in South Dakota to see you, but today, we got to. in your absence, i have actually discovered, i really like rain. it allows for some relaxation. for some catch up on sleep. for some time to sit and think about life.

hmm. some of my best days have come on rainy days. i meet with a mentor who coaches me and is helping me set and meet goals. some days i like meeting with him, other days, i dread it.

i also love rainy days and coffee shops, especially on the same day. that warm smell of coffee flying through the air as you sit at a table looking out the window watching every drop hit the window is peaceful.

as i sit here, i am reminded of the Aurora, CO shooting and the shooting of a future sportscaster. that’s what i want to be. she had this blog, and her last blog post was how she escaped a previous shooting in a Toronto mall.

i love these three paragraphs by Jessica Redfield:

“I was shown how fragile life was on Saturday. I saw the terror on bystanders’ faces. I saw the victims of a senseless crime. I saw lives change. I was reminded that we don’t know when or where our time on Earth will end. When or where we will breathe our last breath. For one man, it was in the middle of a busy food court on a Saturday evening.

I say all the time that every moment we have to live our life is a blessing. So often I have found myself taking it for granted. Every hug from a family member. Every laugh we share with friends. Even the times of solitude are all blessings. Every second of every day is a gift. After Saturday evening, I know I truly understand how blessed I am for each second I am given.

I feel like I am overreacting about what I experienced. But I can’t help but be thankful for whatever caused me to make the choices that I made that day. My mind keeps replaying what I saw over in my head. I hope the victims make a full recovery. I wish I could shake this odd feeling from my chest. The feeling that’s reminding me how blessed I am. The same feeling that made me leave the Eaton Center. The feeling that may have potentially saved my life.”

that’s awesome. life is really precious. it could be taken from us at any moment. Jessica helped and show me how blessed i am. like Jessica, she was a sports intern, and so am i at local TV station. i love it. i get to go to baseball games, softball, swimming, and believe it or not, even racing. i got to interview Jerome Bettis and shake his hand. wow. that is amazing. i wish i could go to training camp but they want to me to go to legion baseball tournament. yes, i am disappointed, but it is still what i love to do. i love it.

oh and there is a show called the Newsroom on HBO. genius work by Aaron Sorkin, go and watch it, especially if you are a journalist.

i love sports, and i can hope i can continue doing what i am passionate about. i wouldn’t take any of my experience back. i hope you chase your dreams and realize how passionate you are too!

just a few rainy thoughts.

Leave a Reply

