live in the moment.

before today’s semi-final match versus Canada, United State’s forward Alex Morgan tweeted, “live in the moment;” and she did today. Morgan scored the game winning goal in the 122nd minute with a header to send USA to the gold medal game versus Japan.

 

i screamed like a little girl after she headed that goal to give USA the win. i was a proud American. great moment and that’s why i love sports. and maybe a little too much, but who cares.

but, i’m going to share something else too, not related to sports, but kind of i guess.

this summer, i have had a lot of work and little fun. and there’s just a month until my senior year of college starts. am i scared, yeah. am i excited, duh. it’s a mix of emotions.

to rewind a minute, before school got out and summer went along, i started to question, doubt why i am here, what is my purpose, am studying the right thing in college, when am i going to find a girl? i started to ask God and then got frustrated with God because i felt like he wasn’t listening. first, that was stupid and as i was meeting with my mentor last week, he showed me actually God has been pretty good to me and i need to be thankful for what he has done in my life.

he shared these thoughts with me:

do my internship because i want to be there regardless of getting paid. do it to get noticed. build up people that believe in you so they can say you were willing to go the extra mile. keep getting noticed was the biggest thing. ask people to teach me and how i can be more effective. i have to really WANT to be there. be a character who really wants something. i am like an athlete in training.

i think to the Olympics. those guys and girls train all their lives to do something every four years to be the best in the world. USA gold medalist Gabby Douglas said, “It is kind of a win-win, the glory goes up to God and the blessings fall down on me!” Missy Franklin said, “God has given me so much!”

these athletes don’t take anything for granted! just like Alex Morgan tweeted, “live in the moment!”

my mentor went on to say that i am blessed by not having it all and having to work at being the best. i had to go out and get my internship.  just a few weeks ago, the shy Sam went up and talked to a girl named Danielle in Florida. I even did it again the next night. it was a confidence booster.

my mentor said that God is working on me and my future wife before he is getting ready to introduce us! wow.

i am blessed! i have an internship and yes, it is a bummer i don’t get paid, but guess what it is doing something i love. it is going to Aberdeen, South Dakota to shoot legion baseball, to swimming meets, to a stock car races, or to softball games. it is about getting noticed.

i need to thank God for what he has blessed me with. going back to Jessica Redfield, who was the the aspiring sportscaster who got shot in Aurora, CO, had a passion of sports and was going to do anything to pursue her dream. she too, after almost losing her life in Toronto, said this,

“I was shown how fragile life was on Saturday. I saw the terror on bystanders’ faces. I saw the victims of a senseless crime. I saw lives change. I was reminded that we don’t know when or where our time on Earth will end. When or where we will breathe our last breath. For one man, it was in the middle of a busy food court on a Saturday evening.

I say all the time that every moment we have to live our life is a blessing. So often I have found myself taking it for granted. Every hug from a family member. Every laugh we share with friends. Even the times of solitude are all blessings. Every second of every day is a gift. After Saturday evening, I know I truly understand how blessed I am for each second I am given.”

i want to live like she did before she was killed. make the most out my experiences, my passion and realize how blessed i am.

i hope that you read this, or comment. i want to touch someone’s life.

 

One thought on “live in the moment.

  1. Thank you for your inspiritational message! It is truly fantastic! I know for a fact how excited I was when I saw Alex Morgan own the moment when she scored the winning goal for USWNT against Canada this past summer!

    It’s really sad how Jessica Ridgeway had to leave this earth. She had such a bright and promising future ahead of her. R.I.P. Miss Ridgeway, I know your in a much better place now.

    Thanks again for your words, the truly made my day today.

Leave a Reply

