the greater fool.

“The greater fool is an economic term; its a patsy. For the rest of us to profit, we need a greater fool. Someone who will buy long and sell short. Most people spend their lives trying not to be the greater fool. We toss them the hot potato, we dive for his seat when the music stops. The greater fool is someone with the perfect blend of self-delusion and ego, to think that he can succeed where others have failed. This whole country was made by greater fools.” – The Newsroom.

I love that show. I watched the whole first season and cannot wait for season two. I want to share part of it. There is this sorority girl in the first episode that asks Will, the anchor, why is America the greatest country in the world?

Watch this: watch?v=YI7Oq8y-jXA&feature=player_embedded

Then, in the last episode, sorority girl appears again. This time to apply for an internship. She got what Will said in the first episode. She knew what a greater fool is. She wanted to be one. Will asked her again why American is the greatest country in the world? He said her and then said hire her.

I think this is what America is lacking. America just re-elected Barack Obama. Republicans and people that disliked what Obama did in his previous years went bananas. People began to lose even more hope. People said lets move to Canada.

That’s the problem. People have forgotten the country we live. People have taken freedom for granted. People have forgotten the foundation that our country was founded on – God. People need to re-read what JFK said, “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.”

America needs greater fools. I want to be a greater fool. After this semester, I have one semester left. Then, I am in the real world. I have to make myself stand out from the world. From other journalists. I need to develop my style, a new take on an idea, an original thought and expand it.

I know I will find my place in this world. People are already noticing me. Former Sports Illustrated writer Jeff Pearlman. He responded to me, and made me believe I can be a successful writer.

Leave a Reply

