merry CHRISTmas!

This Christmas felt different. It didn’t hit me that it was Christmas until I walked into church and sat in a pew on Christmas Eve. Then, we began singing, “Hark the Herald Angels Sing,” and “O Little Town of Bethlehem.” As I started singing, I notices two little girls in the pew behind me, and were standing up, singing these Christmas songs. I thought, how cool is that?

Meanwhile, this Christmas season has been weird for me. I haven’t really listened or sang Christmas music, I had a lot of school projects, I worked, and didn’t get to enjoy the season. It was a bummer.

However, I enjoyed the Christmas Eve service and think it’s one of my favorite church services of the year. The church lights were dimmed, and people were singing and rejoicing in our Savior’s birth! That’t cool.

I think the message is one of my favorites too. First, I love how the angel tells Mary not to be afraid because she is going to give birth to the Messiah. It signifies that God is with us, and creates miracles. As you know, earlier before the birth of Jesus, God told Elizabeth that she was going to give birth to John the Baptist. Yet, Elizabeth was barren and eighty years old. Now, Mary had never slept with a man, and she was going to give birth to the Messiah. It proves that nothing is impossible with God.

jesus-birth

Second, in chapter 1, verse 36 to 38, Mary says, “I’m the Lord’s maid, ready to serve.” Mary recognizes that God has chosen her for a reason. This says to me that God has a purpose for everyone. Mary had never slept with a man, and was going to give birth to Jesus. Imagine what God has in store for you?

Third, the birth of Jesus embraced God’s chosen child, Israel, and you and me. Without God, we are hopeless. We needed a Savior to be born. Jesus was born to save us from our sin, and die on the cross for you and me. That’s salvation and grace. That’s the message of why Jesus was born on Christmas.

Fourth, as Jesus was born in a manger this Christmas, it can be noted that Jesus meets you where you are at. There was no room at the inn, and Jesus was born amongst the cattle. Jesus meets you at your darkest and brightest times. Jesus came for everybody at Christmas time.

Fifth, Christmas is a joyful time. A Savior was born so that we could be saved. We should be rejoicing and singing Christmas music. Often we get sick of the Christmas music as it is played all the time, but we should not take it for granted because the King that is being sung about died for you and me.

At the end of the Christmas Eve service, we lit our candles and sang, “Silent Night.” Because our Savior was born, we can sleep in heavenly peace, and sing “Joy to the World,” because Jesus offers peace to earth!

joy to world

So, let’s sing and rejoice this Christmas season, asking our Lord Jesus to be near, staying close and loving us.

Leave a Reply

