joy rocks. life rocks. I am stinkin’ happy.

monday’s are usually draining, exhausting, long, but nope today wasn’t actually for me.

today, I woke up at 9, ate some breakfast, showered and off to another day of sports law (my J-term class!) after class, I wrote an article for ESPN991.com. Here’s the link:

http://espn991.com/celebrating-mlk-day-remembering-african-american-athletes/

Martin Luther King, Jr, really was such an inspiration and motivation to many African-Americans and to society. I love his quotes.

Microsoft Word - MLK08 Project Leader Flyer Fullsize.doc

“If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.”

“I have decided to stick to love…Hate is too great a burden to bear.”

“Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity.”

THIS IS AWESOME. — “Everybody can be great…because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.”

“We must live together as brothers or perish together as fools.”

“the time is always right to do the right thing”

the rest of the day, I was going to run some errands, but it was so cold my car wouldn’t start, and so I just relaxed a bit before heading to a meeting and then I worked out. then, tonight, my friend chase and me went to Ruby Tuesday to grab some dinner.

I think it’s the conversations I really enjoy with chase because I can totally honest and we can encourage each other. I said that I need to do a better job of getting into God’s Word and he told me to instead of thinking of reading the Bible to cross off your daily checklist, do it to get to know God better. Then, he told me that if really love God, then why do we keep sinning over and over. If I am going to grow deeper with God, I need to do godly things. Lastly, we talked about finding the “one” and how it is especially hard these days with everyone in relationships and getting engaged, and how were seniors and college is the time to do it. Yeah, I have 4 months to find her I guess. Wrong. I do have the rest of the my life. chase told me to look at every girl as a sister in Christ and not as a lustful object. encouraging. just plain stinkin’ awesome.

then, as we sat down at Ruby Tuesday’s, our waitress, alayna, greeted us and asked us how our day was and we started having a conversation about our lives and it was really neat. I felt comfortable talking to her. many times when I just meet a girl, I get nervous, but this time, no, I felt like I can talk to her and want to talk to her. it was cool. it was a confidence booster. I may say that a lot, but that’s huge for me.

i have been super blessed in 2013, and I love it. I know I can’t stop smiling and being full of joy and I don’t want it to end. Jeremiah 29:11 has been my theme verse, and I know that God’s got a plan. I think for the first time, I am fully trusting that he knows what he is doing and will open doors for me with opportunities and so far, I have 2 jobs in the media field and am finally feeling confident about myself.

Praise God.

2 thoughts on “joy rocks. life rocks. I am stinkin’ happy.

Leave a Reply

