Learning to say thank you from my heart to yours.

thank-you

One and half weeks of college ever. Then, graduation. Then, it’s the real world. It’s scary, but everyone has to experience it.

Life’s been stressful, but it’s been so stinking awesome. I got to interview Sports Illustrated writer Jeff Pearlman, KDLT anchors Paul Heinert, and Mark Ovenden, Townsquare Media’s Tony Wright, and my mentor, and KNWC radio host Brad Peterson for my senior project. These journalists helped me find my passion. My style. My voice. They believed in me, and helped me believe in myself. They helped me find that journalism is just like having a conversation, and when it becomes that way it’s beautiful.So, thank you, gentlemen.

Also, here’s my senior project if you want to watch it: 

As I’ve had to this opportunity with professional journalists, I’ve kind of been stuck, too.

I’m still searching for that full-time job, but have part-time jobs that I love. I get to shoot sports for a local news station, write sports for a local radio station’s website, and do work for the USF Marketing department. I’ve come to believe that it’s all about networking. It’s about getting your foot in the door. Meeting people, introducing yourself, and sooner than later, that job you wanted will become a reality.

It’ll take time, but I think it’ll be worth it. I hope. I applied for a full-time reporter job at a news station. I’ve loved working there for the past year. The people are passionate, and love going to their job every day. That’s a job I want. But I have to be patient. I know no matter what, God’s got this plan that is going to be awesome. He says it in Jeremiah 29:11. “For I know the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.” And in Proverbs 16:9, he says he will direct your steps. “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.” Then, you have to trust, and God will do the rest He says in Proverbs 3:5-6. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

Those three verses are why I haven’t lost hope. I’ve trusted, I’ve prayed, and I won’t stop praying or trusting. Ever. I know that my God is bigger than me, and that He won’t ever let me down.

God’s came to my rescue before and he will again. God healed my mom from cancer, he saved me from my sin, he helped me graduate high school, he brought me to USF, he gave me my best friends, my family, an internship, two jobs in the media field, my mentor, my professors, and my employers.

I’m even thankful for the constructive criticism I’ve received because it can be the best advice. A journalist came to our class and critiqued the College Week show I anchored. They told me to be charismatic, energetic, calm, comfortable, smile, work together with my other co-anchor, and tell stories so that the audience can relate. I’m thankful for that advice because that’s how people get better. That’s how I get better. Life’s all about improvement.

And so, I am, and I always will be thankful. I have have had the best community of people to grow up with. So, thank you. I wouldn’t be the person I am without you. I will pray for you, and hope you’ll pray for me because that brothers and sisters do.

I love you all, Sam.

 

Leave a Reply

