There’s beauty in life, and yes, even in storms.

I snapped this photo on my iphone tonight outside my house in South Dakota. It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen! In fact, as the sunset set in the distance, a unique formation of clouds and lightning made the sky look picture perfect. God had created this masterpiece.

The sunset, meanwhile, made think of how often in storms, we search for the beauty, and good. It was evident tonight; God shines through the darkness. Amidst the blue sky, a beautiful sunset had emerged, and in fact, a rainbow that wasn’t as noticeable appeared in the distance. Hope arose.

This storm made me hopeful that God IS there. God creates beauty. God won’t go back on his promises. I mean, just remember, God rescued the Israelites from the Egyptians, (Exodus 14) and was by there side for 40 days in the desert. Or remember the time when God was with Jesus in the desert when the devil tempted him, yet Jesus didn’t fall in temptation (Matt 4:1-11). God held Moses, and he held Jesus in the palm of his hand. He will do the same for you.

It’s the little things, like daily devotions, sunsets, storms, people, places, etc. that can make you realize that you’re not in this world alone. God has you, and your family and friends love and care for you. God is a prayer away; you can pray anywhere you want. Your family and friends are a phone call, or a drive away. All you have to do is reach out.

In my own life, I’ve been stuck. I’ve been at home the last few days, and my mom and dad have simply shown me that I have to keep pursuing what I love. They told me people to reach out to, and jobs to contact. Their advice motivated me to go out and get dressed up professionally and go drop off a resume or meet an employer.

Then, even two of my best friends told me to not give up, and are always there to encourage me. They’ve taught me to not let fear hold me back because naturally a shy kid, but in the end, I can’t let my weakness hinder me.

People make a difference. God makes a difference.

As I keep pursuing what I love, I know God’s got an awesome plan for me (Jer. 29:11), and I need to trust that he will be with me every step of the way (Proverbs 3:5-6).

In the end, I know that my God, and my family and friends will always be there to give me advice and encouragement. They love me to death too much, and I love them to death too much to just give up. I won’t ever give up.

 

Leave a Reply

