God moments defined my 2014

I was driving home from work tonight, and almost started crying because I was feeling like I wanted to give up.

Yesterday, I wrote an emotionally-draining piece on a 73-year old track coach who died unexpectedly on Christmas Eve. I spent two hours interviewing former runners, coaches and people who had known him. I struggled to write it, but I needed a challenge.

Then today I found out today another person turned the job and now I am still left by myself to cover seven high schools sports. I felt stressed.

I wanted to just give up.

But while I was thinking and a few tears came rolling down my face, Oceans by Hillsong was playing. I love that song. And these lyrics struck me again, as they have numerous times this year:

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior
Oh, Jesus, you’re my God!

I just knew God was right there.

And as 2014 comes to a close tomorrow at midnight and then 2015 rolls in, I have to stop and thank God for being so faithful and with me.

I knew that I couldn’t give up just because life was getting hard. Because God is there in good and bad times. I could feel God right there with me.

So in 2014, I felt God a lot. I learned to become still. I learned to say, ‘Spirit fall on me.’

God told me in 2014, I got you, Sam. Do you got me?

I could hear him say my name in Jeremiah 29:11-13:

For I know the plans I have for you (Sam). They are plans good and not disaster, to give you (Sam) a future and a hope. In those days when you (Sam) pray, I will listen. If you (Sam) look for me wholeheartedly, you (Sam) will find me.

image

Yes, Lord, I got you. Thanks for being with me another year and can’t wait to be with you in 2015.

So in 2014, I took comfort in God. God gave me peace. & I know God has a plan for me. It’s going to be good. God’s taught me to live for today, and not for tomorrow. He’s taught me to be content in my circumstances and to be happy. He’s taught me to love people. To listen to people’s stories. I’ve learned that my family and friends are everything. (I love you mom, dad, bro, and my Bffs.) I love everyone in my life. God’s blessed me a ton. I’m so thankful for you.

I freaking genuinely love you guys. Yesterday’s story I wrote was a good reflection. Life can take you anytime. I know that my salvation is in Him and cannot wait to sing, dance and talk to my Daddy in Heaven. In my 23rd year of life, I have learned to cherish each day. Every year gets shorter it seems. I just want my loved ones to know I love and care about them. sam chase

So as 2015 awaits, I know that God will be me in every good situation and whatever challenges he has in store for me. & I can’t wait!

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders in 2015. I’ll go wherever you take me.

Happy New Year. May God bless you.

friends

P.S. I really do freaking genuinely love my God, my family and my friends. I wanted you all to hear that.

All I am is Yours, Lord.

Leave a Reply

